April 2023

April was not very warm, and still quite rainy for southern California! Inbetween rainstorms they managed to complete the resurfacing of the two main tennis courts just in time for the first tournament of the year. Sadly, however, the tourney was postponed due to the sudden and unexpected passing of one of the most active members of our tennis community. Rest in Peace, Barbie! You will be missed!

Some excitement for this month……near Joel’s office one of the trash trucks burst into flames!

During my monthly visits to the City of Hope in Irvine I would always try to get some exercise inbetween my various appointments. At this April appointment one of the nurses asked me if I had seen the walking path out back of the center. This is how I discovered this beautiful way to get my daily exercise!

By far the highlight of this month was

the debut of my son Kevin’s

documentary “Home is a Hotel” at the

66th annual San Fransisco

International Film Festival.

I skipped my 50th high school reunion this weekend to attend the festival and what a great decision that was!

The film received a standing ovation. It was extra special also that many of the subjects of the film were able to attend the screening as guests of Kevin and his crew. It was amazing to meet them!

Six years in the making…..what a wonderful reception by the SF audience!

After the film debuted we attended an after party where we met the families of several of the others involved in the making of this film, as well as some of those about whom this documentary was made. All in all it was an amazing day and evening!!

One of my favorite things about SF – the incredible views during my morning strolls

And finally…..the removal of the old trailer in the site next door! The site is being renovated and sold by the club. This is just the first step.

My latest tea discovery – Blue Butterfly Pea Flower Tea.

Delicate flavor and great as a bedtime relaxer 😌

About meanderingmomma

A retired school teacher hits the road
This entry was posted in 2023. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment