July 2023

July 2nd I headed out to Palmetto State Park for a few days while waiting for my reservation to start on July 4th at Pecan River RV Park, only a bike ride from my son’s house in San Marcos.  It was a beautiful park, covered with palms, hence the name Palmetto.  The hiking was great in spite of the excessive humidity.

4th of July I spent with my son, his girlfriend, and my granddaughter watching fireworks from the parking lot of Texas State University San Marcos.

Pecan RV Park is right on the banks of the San Marcos River with its own beach!  I took early morning bike rides and met two horses and one alien nearby.  My granddaughter stayed overnight with me one night and we visited both the horses and the alien on our morning walk.

My monthly medical trip back to California was extended an extra week.  Joel was unable to come visit me in Texas over the 4th of July, so he asked me to accompany him on his Lake Crowley fishing trip.  He was ready to test the newest version of the iTroll and I definitely wanted to be there for that!

Even better, it turned out that Joel’s older brother, Jeff, was able to come spend a few days with us at the Lake and Joel’s long-time fishing buddy Jake joined us for a day as well. Our last day at the Lake Joel’s cousin Curtis came too.

The “Columns” are a well known site on the edge of Crowley Lake.

Researchers believe that falling snow melted on top of the tuff rock deposits left after the eruption. This still-heated porous material caused the melted snow to boil, which created the even spaces between the columns that exist today.

Evening fishing on the Lake.

One day we visited nearby Convict Lake. It was much too crowded for our liking so we did not fish there. But we did hike a short distance and admired the spectacular beauty of the surroundings.

Sunset on our last day

I have wanted to learn to shoot a gun for a long time and both Joel & his brother have been telling me they would teach me. Well, it finally happened! Jeff and I went to some nearby land where he set up targets for me to learn. I shot 100 rounds with a 22 and I was quite surprised that all but one of my shots hit somewhere on the target!

Of course that was the day Joel caught the biggest fish of the week when he was all by himself on the boat……

Then “Rifleman Toy” showed off a little with his new rifle that is a “replica” of the one used in the TV series The Rifleman.

Rifleman Toy 😁

While in California I saw the progress being made in Eden West.   What a difference from when we first moved here!!

Lower Eden West walking path added

Our neighboring site is completed

Welcome Neighbors!

Speaking of neighbors…..One day while I was unloading my car in our driveway, behind me I heard a loud boom! I turned quickly around to see his car on fire……then ran onto my front porch to stay safe. Luckily two other neighbors came to his aid and put out the fire in a hurry. Nobody got hurt. The car, however, we now call “La Bomba” 😂

Saturday July 29th I left San Marcos for my drive to Colorado.  It was a bit late in the day so I only made it to Fredericksburg for the evening.  Sunday morning I stopped for a hike in San Angelo State Park, but it was too “deserty” for me so I did not stay long before continuing on my way.  I stopped for the next 2 nights in Lake Colorado City State Park.  Still WAY too hot for my liking, but at least the lake was pretty, in spite of being so low that the boat launch was unusable.  My morning hike on the last day there was shared by some cute bunnies!

San Angelo State Park Texas – over 100 degrees & NO shade 😕

(Too hot even for the bison and longhorns)

Lake Colorado City State Park Texas – pretty but still too hot!

Roberta

You’re no bunny ’til some bunny loves you. 💕

Joel
Is he joining me on my walk? She definitely isn’t!

My last day at Lake Colorado City brought another (unwanted, to say the least!) surprise…..a swarm of bees over my RV!!

Thank heavens for good screens and strong fans! Only two managed to get completely inside the RV and I was able to kill both before any chance of being stung.

Bee body parts everywhere!

If deserts are your thing I guess this is pretty!

See y’all next month…………..

About meanderingmomma

A retired school teacher hits the road
This entry was posted in 2023. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment